August 27, 2014

bible study imageSubject: Exercise

Golden Text: I Tim. 4:8, ESV*

For while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.

The Bible, ESV

I Sam. 14:21-30

Now the Hebrews who had been with the Philistines before that time and who had gone up with them into the camp, even they also turned to be with the Israelites who were with Saul and Jonathan. 22 Likewise, when all the men of Israel who had hidden themselves in the hill country of Ephraim heard that the Philistines were fleeing, they too followed hard after them in the battle. 23 So the Lord saved Israel that day. And the battle passed beyond Beth-aven. 24 And the men of Israel had been hard pressed that day, so Saul had laid an oath on the people, saying, “Cursed be the man who eats food until it is evening and I am avenged on my enemies.” So none of the people had tasted food. 25 Now when all the people came to the forest, behold, there was honey on the ground. 26 And when the people entered the forest, behold, the honey was dropping, but no one put his hand to his mouth, for the people feared the oath. 27 But Jonathan had not heard his father charge the people with the oath, so he put out the tip of the staff that was in his hand and dipped it in the honeycomb and put his hand to his mouth, and his eyes became bright. 28 Then one of the people said, “Your father strictly charged the people with an oath, saying, ‘Cursed be the man who eats food this day.’” And the people were faint. 29 Then Jonathan said, “My father has troubled the land. See how my eyes have become bright because I tasted a little of this honey. 30 How much better if the people had eaten freely today of the spoil of their enemies that they found. For now the defeat among the Philistines has not been great.”

I Tim. 4:9-10

The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance. 10 For to this end we toil and strive, because we have our hope set on the living God, who is the Savior of all people, especially of those who believe.

From 21st Century Science and Health*

Compassionate, unobtrusive, intelligent healing is lost because our systems of religion are governed more or less by our systems of material medicine. The first idolatry was faith in matter.

Exercise the power of intelligence, to displace unintelligent behavior. The application of spiritual intelligence can also cause threatening situations to self-destruct. The cure of matter does not come from within itself.

Temporal methods of healing generate antagonism. For example, we take one pill to relieve a problem, but the pill creates another problem for which we need surgery, and then complications come about after the surgery for which we need another pill. The warfare between Spirit and the flesh goes on. Antibodies kill good bacteria along with the bad. Viruses become immune to antibiotics. Drugs are addictive. These rivalries cause the human mind to weaken its own assumed power.

I Cor. 9:19-27

For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win more of them. 20 To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. 21 To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Christ) that I might win those outside the law. 22 To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some. 23 I do it all for the sake of the gospel, that I may share with them in its blessings.

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. 25 Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. 26 So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. 27 But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

Romans 15:30-33

I appeal to you, brothers, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to strive together with me in your prayers to God on my behalf, 31 that I may be delivered from the unbelievers in Judea, and that my service for Jerusalem may be acceptable to the saints, 32 so that by God’s will I may come to you with joy and be refreshed in your company. 33 May the God of peace be with you all. Amen.

From 21st Century Science and Health

The movement of thought, advancing past limiting standpoints is slow and warns the spiritual traveler of the long haul ahead. However, the angels of Love’s presence—the spiritual intuitions that tell us when “the night is nearly over; the day is almost here”[1]—are our guardians in the gloom. Whoever opens the way in divine Science is a pioneer and stranger, marking out the path for generations yet unborn.

It is only productive to exercise human will-power in subordination to Truth. Human-will has the tendency to misguide our decisions and bring out inferior tendencies. Mistaken human thoughts injure our self and others. It is the function of spiritual sense to direct man and woman aright.

Human will-power is liable to all evil. The willfulness of human mind can never heal the sick. Contrastingly, the exercise of spirituality—hope, faith, love—is the prayer of the righteous. The prayer governed by Science instead of human mortal selfhood, heals.

Safeguard, or firewall your thought. Admit only those conclusions that you wish realized in bodily results and you will control yourself harmoniously. When the condition is present which you say induces disease, whether it is air, exercise, heredity, contagion, or accident, than actively keep those unhealthy conclusions and fears out of thought. The issues of pain or pleasure must come through mind. Be on guard, do not abandon the mental post and do not forget that through divine help we can stop intruders. Exclude from human mind all offending errors; then the body cannot suffer from them.

In our scientific relationship to God, we find that whatever blesses one blesses all.

Phil. 2:12-18

Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

14 Do all things without grumbling or disputing, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain. 17 Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all. 18 Likewise you also should be glad and rejoice with me.

From Science and Health

Society, advertisements, pharmaceutical companies, and the schools have made faith in drugs the fashion, rather than faith in God. By trusting matter to destroy its own disorder, health and harmony have been sacrificed. Temporal systems are barren of the vitality of spiritual power by which physical sense is made the servant of Science, and religion becomes Christ-like.

The body seems to be self-acting, only because mortal mind is ignorant of itself. The human mind is unaware of its own actions, and of their results—unaware that the inclining, outlying, and triggering cause of all bad effects is a law of so-called human mind, not of matter. Mind is the master of the physical senses and can vanquish sickness, sin, and death. Exercise this God-given power. Take possession of your body, and direct its feeling and action. Advance in the strength of Spirit to resist all that is unlike good. God has made you capable of this, and nothing can stop the ability and power divinely bestowed on your spirituality.

[1] Rom. 13:12

*The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®) copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. ESV® Text Edition: 2011. Scripture taken from The Message. Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002. Text from 21st Century Science and Health, copyrighted by Cheryl Petersen.

Leave a Comment