July 19, 2017

bible study imageSubject: Safety

Golden text: Psalms 16: 8-9*

I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure.

I Samuel 12: 19-25

 And all the people said to Samuel, “Pray for your servants to the Lord your God, that we may not die, for we have added to all our sins this evil, to ask for ourselves a king.” 20 And Samuel said to the people, “Do not be afraid; you have done all this evil. Yet do not turn aside from following the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart. 21 And do not turn aside after empty things that cannot profit or deliver, for they are empty. 22 For the Lord will not forsake his people, for his great name’s sake, because it has pleased the Lord to make you a people for himself. 23 Moreover, as for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by ceasing to pray for you, and I will instruct you in the good and the right way. 24 Only fear the Lord and serve him faithfully with all your heart. For consider what great things he has done for you. 25 But if you still do wickedly, you shall be swept away, both you and your king.”

21st Century Science and Health**

Are our thoughts of Deity empty?

Default thinking assumes that all revelation must come from a scholarly or ecclesiastical lineage, like kings crowned from a royal dynasty. Those assumptions disallow inspired understanding and the demonstration of God’s healing power. For this Principle there is no ecclesiastical monopoly, no human lineage of teachers, no successor. The priest is the spiritualized person. Immortal rulings are crowned. In healing the sick and sinning, Jesus actively brought attention to the fact that the healing effect followed the understanding of the divine Principle and of the Christ-spirit which controlled his physical self. As divine Principle is scientifically understood, you can comprehend and experience for yourself the works of Christ, Truth. The Bible declares that all believers “will be called priests of the Lord.”[2]

It requires a mental unlearning, restructuring and reorganization before we can adopt scientific religion and the divine healing which overcomes sickness, sin and death. Let our pulpits do justice to divine Science. Let Science have fair representation by the media.

I Samuel 15:1, 24-26

And Samuel said to Saul, “The Lord sent me to anoint you king over his people Israel; now therefore listen to the words of the Lord.

24 Saul said to Samuel, “I have sinned, for I have transgressed the commandment of the Lord and your words, because I feared the people and obeyed their voice. 25 Now therefore, please pardon my sin and return with me that I may bow before the Lord.” 26 And Samuel said to Saul, “I will not return with you. For you have rejected the word of the Lord, and the Lord has rejected you from being king over Israel.”

21st Century Science and Health

It is not safe to build on false foundations.

Obsessions, selfishness, misleading appetites, hatred, fear, and lust give way to spirituality, and the superabundance of being is on the side of God, good.

Science shows that conflicting convictions and opinions repeatedly transmit mixed signals. The signals symbolize confusion, but we can be safe from confusion when it is promptly and persistently tuned out. As we tune into divine Science, Truth and Love buffer confused mentalities and thereby invigorate and sustain existence. Knowledge picked up by the five senses is disposable.

Whoever uses their developed mental energies or powers to commit opportune atrocities is never safe. God will arrest those people. Divine justice will confine them. Their sins will be millstones about their necks, weighing them down to the depths of disgrace and death. The aggravation of error foretells its doom and confirms the ancient axiom: Whom the gods would destroy, they first make mad.

I Samuel 16:1, 10-12

The Lord said to Samuel, “How long will you grieve over Saul, since I have rejected him from being king over Israel? Fill your horn with oil, and go. I will send you to Jesse the Bethlehemite, for I have provided for myself a king among his sons.”

10 And Jesse made seven of his sons pass before Samuel. And Samuel said to Jesse, “The Lord has not chosen these.” 11 Then Samuel said to Jesse, “Are all your sons here?” And he said, “There remains yet the youngest, but behold, he is keeping the sheep.” And Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and get him, for we will not sit down till he comes here.” 12 And he sent and brought him in. Now he was ruddy and had beautiful eyes and was handsome. And the Lord said, “Arise, anoint [David], for this is he.”

21st Century Science and Health

The pains of sinful sense are less harmful than its pleasures. When human beings realize they no longer want to believe in physical suffering, they turn from the body to Spirit and call on divine sources outside of themselves.

When navigating aircraft through a storm, the pressure is shifting, the wind is shrieking, and air pockets are hiding in the air currents. We ask the pilot: “Do you know your course? Can you aviate safely among this turbulence?” Though brave, the dauntless aviator is not sure of safety because even aeronautical science is not equal to the Science of Mind. Yet, acting on his or her highest understanding, the pilot doesn’t avoid responsibility, but keeps working, ready to act on divine guidance. This example of behavior can be useful in any stressful relationship, including a seething marriage. Be accountable, hope and work, willingly act on divine guidance, not private interest. Divine guidance will either force a graceful change, or calm the enraged atmosphere.

I Samuel 19:1

And Saul spoke to Jonathan his son and to all his servants, that they should kill David.

I Samuel 20:1, 12-13, 18

Then David fled from Naioth in Ramah and came and said before Jonathan, “What have I done? What is my guilt? And what is my sin before your father, that he seeks my life?”

12 And Jonathan said to David, “The Lord, the God of Israel, be witness! When I have sounded out my father, about this time tomorrow, or the third day, behold, if he is well disposed toward David, shall I not then send and disclose it to you? 13 But should it please my father to do you harm, the Lord do so to Jonathan and more also if I do not disclose it to you and send you away, that you may go in safety. May the Lord be with you, as he has been with my father.

18 Now David fled and escaped, and he came to Samuel at Ramah and told him all that Saul had done to him.

21st Century Science and Health

The harmful effect of lousy friendships is less seen than felt.

Fear weighs down humanity with superimposed and conjectural evils. Human mind is the worst enemy of the body, while divine Mind is its best friend.

Would life without friends be empty? Then the time will come when you will feel alone, without sympathy, but this vacuum is filled with divine Love. When this time comes, even if you cling to a sense of personal joys, spiritual Love will force you to accept what best promotes your spiritual growth. Friends will betray and enemies will slander, until the lesson is learned, and you are exalted; for “man’s extremity is God’s opportunity.”[3] I speak from experience. We are learning to lay down our fleshliness and gain spirituality by ridding our self of a mortal identity. Universal Love is the divine way.

Psalms 119: 113-117

I hate the double-minded, but I love your law.
114 You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in your word.
115 Depart from me, you evildoers, that I may keep the commandments of my God.
116 Uphold me according to your promise, that I may live, and let me not be put to shame in my hope!
117 Hold me up, that I may be safe and have regard for your statutes continually!

From 21st Century Science and Health

Sickness is no less a temptation than is sin and they are both healed by understanding God’s power over them.

The history of Christianity furnishes sublime proofs of the supporting influence and protecting power bestowed on us by our heavenly Father-Mother. Omnipotent Mind gives us faith and understanding whereby to safeguard our self, not only from temptation, but also from bodily suffering.

The diverse manifestations of divine Science indicate Mind, never matter, and have one Principle.

The theology of a dualistic God gives no hint of the unchanging love of God.

Do not cede obedience to materialism. Affirm that the spiritual lawgivers, Truth, Life, and Love, are the only legitimate and eternal demands on us. Spirit enforces obedience through divine statutes.

Psalm 4:8

In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.

From 21st Century Science and Health

Under the umbrella of our Maker, we can have no other Mind. Secure on the Evangelist’s statement that “all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made,”[1] we can triumph over sin, sickness, and death.

[1] John 1:3

*Scriptures taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV®. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved worldwide. www.zondervan.com The “NIV” and “New International Version” are trademarks registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Biblica, Inc.™

**Text from 21st Century Science and Health can’t be reproduced in part or as a whole without the written permission of Healing Science Today

[1] John 5:18

[2] Ex. 19:6; Isa. 61:6; Rev. 1:6

[3] Quote attributed to John Flavel, (1627–1691) English Presbyterian.

Leave a Reply

