October 19, 2016

bible study imageSubject: Dead or alive

Golden text: Psalms 86: 12-13*

I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart;
I will glorify your name forever.
13 For great is your love toward me;
you have delivered me from the depths,
from the realm of the dead.

Jeremiah 9:3-21

The Lord said, “It is because they have forsaken my law, which I set before them; they have not obeyed me or followed my law. 14 Instead, they have followed the stubbornness of their hearts; they have followed the Baals, as their ancestors taught them.” 15 Therefore this is what the Lord Almighty, the God of Israel, says: “See, I will make this people eat bitter food and drink poisoned water. 16 I will scatter them among nations that neither they nor their ancestors have known, and I will pursue them with the sword until I have made an end of them.”

17 This is what the Lord Almighty says:

“Consider now! Call for the wailing women to come;
send for the most skillful of them.
18 Let them come quickly
and wail over us
till our eyes overflow with tears
and water streams from our eyelids.
19 The sound of wailing is heard from Zion:
‘How ruined we are!
How great is our shame!
We must leave our land
because our houses are in ruins.’”

20 Now, you women, hear the word of the Lord;
open your ears to the words of his mouth.
Teach your daughters how to wail;
teach one another a lament.
21 Death has climbed in through our windows
and has entered our fortresses;
it has removed the children from the streets
and the young men from the public squares.

From 21st Century Science and Health**

Knowledge and pleasure, evolved through physical sense, produce the immediate mindset of fear and shame. Uncomfortable in the presence of Truth, human knowledge becomes confused, and people cower and hide when they hear the divine voice calling for their attention.

Infatuation, self-destructive appetites, dishonesty, envy, hatred, and revenge ripen into action, only to pass from shame and despair to their final self-punishment.

In order to make room for truth, beliefs warring against spiritual facts must be rejected and removed. You can’t add to a glass already full. Some adults are full of faith in mortality, making it difficult to inculcate a grain of faith in God, or an inkling of Spirit’s ability to make the body harmonious.

Jeremiah 9:21-24

22 Say, “This is what the Lord declares:

“‘Dead bodies will lie
like dung on the open field,
like cut grain behind the reaper,
with no one to gather them.’”

23 This is what the Lord says:

“Let not the wise boast of their wisdom
or the strong boast of their strength
or the rich boast of their riches,
24 but let the one who boasts boast about this:
that they have the understanding to know me,
that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness,
justice and righteousness on earth,
for in these I delight,”
declares the Lord.

From 21st Century Science and Health

The illusive evidence of physical sense certainly differs from the testimony of Spirit. Physical sense lifts its voice with the arrogance of reality and boasts: I am completely dishonest, and people don’t know it. I can commit adultery, cheat, lie, steal, and murder. I evade detection by pretending to be a victim. My tendency is irrational, my feelings are deceitful, and my purpose is fraudulent, but I aim to make my short span of life one big fling. Resistance to spirituality is fantastic! How it succeeds, where the good purpose waits! The world is my territory. I am popular, surrounded by materialism. However, a reality check, an accident, or the law of God may at any moment annihilate my peace, for all my fancied joys are fatal. Like bursting lava, I increase but to my own despair, because the over-rated mortal life is a consuming fire.

The testimony of Spirit, Soul, maintains: I am Spirit. Man and woman, whose perceptions are spiritual, are my likeness, reflecting the infinite understanding, for I am Infinity. The beauty of holiness, the perfection of being, and imperishable glory—all are Mine, for I am God. I give spirituality, for I am Truth. I include and impart all happiness, for I am Love. I give life, without beginning and without end, for I am Life. I am supreme. I am an unlimited source of good ideas, for I am Mind. I am the substance of all, because “I AM WHO I AM.”[1]

John 11: 1-4, 38-44

Now a man named Lazarus was sick. He was from Bethany, the village of Mary and her sister Martha. (This Mary, whose brother Lazarus now lay sick, was the same one who poured perfume on the Lord and wiped his feet with her hair.) So the sisters sent word to Jesus, “Lord, the one you love is sick.”

When he heard this, Jesus said, “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.”

38 Jesus, once more deeply moved, came to the tomb. It was a cave with a stone laid across the entrance. 39 “Take away the stone,” he said.

“But, Lord,” said Martha, the sister of the dead man, “by this time there is a bad odor, for he has been there four days.”

40 Then Jesus said, “Did I not tell you that if you believe, you will see the glory of God?”

41 So they took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. 42 I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.”

43 When he had said this, Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!” 44 The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face.

Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”

From 21st Century Science and Health

Jesus said: “Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep; but I am going there to wake him up.”[2] Jesus restored Lazarus by the understanding that Lazarus never died—not by believing his body died and lived again. Had Jesus believed that Lazarus died or lived in his body, the Master would have stood on the same plane of belief as those who buried the body, and he could not have resuscitated it.

A miracle doesn’t violate but fulfills God’s law. This fact can seem more mysterious than the miracle itself.

Jesus was misinterpreted, even considered a criminal, but yet he proved God’s divine power by healing the sick, driving out evils, and spiritualizing consciousness. He also raised the dead—those dead in trespasses and sins, satisfied with the flesh. When resting on the basis of matter, we are blind to the possibilities of Spirit and its interrelated truth.

Jesus brought to humanity’s attention things “hidden since the creation of the world”[3]—since material knowledge overstepped the creative divine Principle. We don’t have to buy into material knowledge which insists on the might of matter, the force of falsity, and the anthropomorphism of God.

I John 3:14

 We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love each other. Anyone who does not love remains in death.

From 21st Century Science and Health

The belief that we have an existence or mind separate from God is a dying error.

The time required for this dream of material life to disappear from consciousness, “No one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.”[4] The time it takes for us to stop embracing delusive pleasures and pains will be drawn out, or shortened, depending on the tenacity of error. Of what advantage is it to prolong the illusion either of a catatonic soul or of a dying sufferer trapped in a body? What is better, to add years to mortal life, or, to add life to years?

This Science teaches us that God is the only Life, and that this Life is truth and love; that God is to be understood, compassionately respected, and demonstrated; that divine Truth drives out supposed errors and heals the sick.

Being is alive.

*Scriptures taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV®. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved worldwide. www.zondervan.com The “NIV” and “New International Version” are trademarks registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Biblica, Inc.™

**Text from 21st Century Science and Health can’t be reproduced in part or as a whole without the written permission of Healing Science Today

[1] Ex. 3:14

[2] John 11:11

[3] Matt. 13:35

[4] Matt. 24:36 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

