August 17, 2016

bible study imageSubject: Mind

Golden text: Colossians 2: 18-19*

 Let no one disqualify you, insisting on asceticism and worship of angels, going on in detail about visions, puffed up without reason by his sensuous mind, 19 and not holding fast to the Head, from whom the whole body, nourished and knit together through its joints and ligaments, grows with a growth that is from God.

Romans 7: 1-6

Or do you not know, brothers—for I am speaking to those who know the law—that the law is binding on a person only as long as he lives? For a married woman is bound by law to her husband while he lives, but if her husband dies she is released from the law of marriage. Accordingly, she will be called an adulteress if she lives with another man while her husband is alive. But if her husband dies, she is free from that law, and if she marries another man she is not an adulteress.

Likewise, my brothers, you also have died to the law through the body of Christ, so that you may belong to another, to him who has been raised from the dead, in order that we may bear fruit for God. For while we were living in the flesh, our sinful passions, aroused by the law, were at work in our members to bear fruit for death. But now we are released from the law, having died to that which held us captive, so that we serve in the new way of the Spirit and not in the old way of the written code.

From 21st Century Science and Health**

Genuine faith relies on an understood Principle. An understood Principle releases people from problems, and reveals the self-perpetuating and harmonious phases of everything.

If sickness is real, it belongs to spirituality; if sickness is true, it is a part of Truth. Would you attempt with drugs, or without, to destroy a quality or condition of Truth? Let’s say sickness is not real. Let’s say sickness and sin are unfiltered and unprocessed images that can be filtered and processed by divine Science to show us health, holiness, and spirituality. This process or clarification of information is accomplished through Spirit, Christ, or the advanced appearing of Truth.

Divine Science awakens the sinner, rehabilitates the self-deceived, and releases from pain the helpless sufferer. Science speaks the words of Truth to those who are lost, and they answer with rejoicing. It causes the deaf to hear, the lame to walk, and the blind to see. Who would be the first to disown the Christ-likeness of good works, when Jesus said, “By their fruit you will recognize them.”?[1]

Does a law of God produce sickness, and can we break that law by healing sickness? It appears that sickness is never really healed by drugs, hygiene, or any material method. Temporal methods of relief merely evade the questions and are soothing syrups to put children to sleep, satisfy human belief, and avoid fear.

We are not made subordinate to matter/energy. We also are not made to dominate. Our dominion is to respect and care for all the symbols of God, the Maker; this is the Science of being.

Compare spiritual being (man and woman) to divine Principle, God. How close, in Science, is the reflection to the original? As the reflection of yourself appears in the mirror, so you, being spiritual, are the reflection of God. The substance, Life, intelligence, Truth, and Love, which constitute Deity, are reflected by Mind’s creation. When we subordinate the false testimony of the bodily senses to the facts of Science, we will see this true likeness and reflection everywhere.

We were not crafted from an untenable basis. We were not commanded to obey human laws which Spirit never made. Our sphere is in spiritual statutes, in the higher law of Mind.

Romans 7: 7-12

What then shall we say? That the law is sin? By no means! Yet if it had not been for the law, I would not have known sin. For I would not have known what it is to covet if the law had not said, “You shall not covet.” But sin, seizing an opportunity through the commandment, produced in me all kinds of covetousness. For apart from the law, sin lies dead. I was once alive apart from the law, but when the commandment came, sin came alive and I died. 10 The very commandment that promised life proved to be death to me. 11 For sin, seizing an opportunity through the commandment, deceived me and through it killed me. 12 So the law is holy, and the commandment is holy and righteous and good.

From 21st Century Science and Health

Human mind is unaware of its false ego or it could never be self-deceived. If this mortal mind knew how to be better, it would. When human mind tries to believe in something besides itself, it only promotes its own image as deity, thereby becoming an idolater. Out of the necessity to maintain its identity the human mind has other gods and believes in more than one Mind.

As human beings do not comprehend even mortal existence, they must be ignorant of the all-knowing Mind and of the creation of Spirit.

Wrongdoers make their own hell by doing things which avoid Life, Truth, and Love. Saints make their own heaven by embracing Life, Truth, and Love. Wrongdoers believe they are happier when being negative, but this is evil aiding evil. Do not be deceived by inverted human conclusions.

The fear occasioned by ignorance can be cured. To remove the effects of fear produced by sin, you must overcome both fear and sin. Disease is expressed not so much by words as in the functions of the body. Establish the scientific spiritual perception of health, and you relieve the malfunctioning organ. A holy view of health stabilizes the body’s equilibrium, and the body’s internal environment is balanced as systems resume their healthy function.

Romans 7: 13-25

Did that which is good, then, bring death to me? By no means! It was sin, producing death in me through what is good, in order that sin might be shown to be sin, and through the commandment might become sinful beyond measure. 14 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. 15 For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. 16 Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. 17 So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.

21 So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. 22 For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, 23 but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. 24 Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? 25 Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

From 21st Century Science and Health

Adversity teaches human beings not to lean on a collapsible crutch. Spiritual development doesn’t come from planting seeds in the dirt of materialist views. Those seeds rot whereas Love nurtures the higher joys of Spirit, which have no taint of earth. We forget this when life is fine. But when mortals belch, or the economy goes sour, or people think their partner is boring, the heart is pierced with sadness until we remember that sorrow can be therapeutic, forcing us to enter the domain of spiritual happiness and reliance. God will take care of us as we travel a trajectory unfolding new views of divine goodness and love.

When a relationship is going well, pay attention, otherwise an increasing dependence on one another may yank the rug out from under your feet. If, on the other hand, your relationship is rocky, don’t react, but hope, pray, and wait patiently on divine wisdom to point the way.

Divine Science explains the abstract statement that there is one Mind by the following self-evident proposition: If God, or good, is real then the unlikeness of Life, Truth, and Love is unreal. Any unlikeness to God can only seem real by giving reality to the unreal. The children of God have but one Mind. How can good lapse into bad, when God, the Mind of person, never falters?

Isaiah 26: 1-4

In that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah:

“We have a strong city;
he sets up salvation
as walls and bulwarks.
Open the gates,
that the righteous nation that keeps faith may enter in.
You keep him in perfect peace
whose mind is stayed on you,
because he trusts in you.
Trust in the Lord forever,
for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.

From 21st Century Science and Health

Put an end to the chatter in your head and calmly enter spiritual consciousness. In the refuge of sincere intentions, you must deny sin and affirm God’s allness. Become committed, “pray continually,”[2] and go forward with a pure heart to work and watch for wisdom, Truth, and Love. Such prayer is answered insofar as you put your spiritual desires into practice.

This city of our God has no need of sun or moon, for Love is the light of it, and divine Mind is its own interpreter.

*Scripture quotations are from the ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

** Text from 21st Century Science and Health, 5th edition, copyrighted by Cheryl Petersen.

[1] Matt. 7:20

[2] I Thess. 5:17

Leave a Reply

