July 20, 2016

Subject: Truth

Golden text: Zechariah 8:16*

These are the things that you shall do: Speak the truth to one another; render in your gates judgments that are true and make for peace;

Daniel 10: 1-9

In the third year of Cyrus king of Persia a word was revealed to Daniel, who was named Belteshazzar. And the word was true, and it was a great conflict. And he understood the word and had understanding of the vision.

In those days I, Daniel, was mourning for three weeks. I ate no delicacies, no meat or wine entered my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, for the full three weeks. On the twenty-fourth day of the first month, as I was standing on the bank of the great river (that is, the Tigris) I lifted up my eyes and looked, and behold, a man clothed in linen, with a belt of fine gold from Uphaz around his waist. His body was like beryl, his face like the appearance of lightning, his eyes like flaming torches, his arms and legs like the gleam of burnished bronze, and the sound of his words like the sound of a multitude. And I, Daniel, alone saw the vision, for the men who were with me did not see the vision, but a great trembling fell upon them, and they fled to hide themselves. So I was left alone and saw this great vision, and no strength was left in me. My radiant appearance was fearfully changed and I retained no strength. Then I heard the sound of his words, and as I heard the sound of his words, I fell on my face in deep sleep with my face to the ground.

From 21st Century Science and Health**

Intelligence is not mute before non-intelligence.

The question, “What is Truth,” convulses the world. Many are ready to meet this inquiry with the assurance which comes of understanding, however, more people are blinded by their old misinterpretations and try to pass the question off.

The efforts to answer the question, “What is Truth,” by some ology are vain. Spiritual reasoning and free thought accompany approaching Science and cannot be put down. Divine logic and metaphysics will liberate humanity and strategically remove and displace unscientific means and laws.

Epiphanies that should startle the trance-like thinker out of its erroneous dream are neglected. The last trump has yet to sound. Marvels, disasters, and sin will increase to urge human beings to stop resisting the claims of Truth.

Human belief is slow to acknowledge what the spiritual fact implies.

Daniel 10: 10-17

And behold, a hand touched me and set me trembling on my hands and knees. 11 And he said to me, “O Daniel, man greatly loved, understand the words that I speak to you, and stand upright, for now I have been sent to you.” And when he had spoken this word to me, I stood up trembling. 12 Then he said to me, “Fear not, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand and humbled yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words. 13 The prince of the kingdom of Persia withstood me twenty-one days, but Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, for I was left there with the kings of Persia, 14 and came to make you understand what is to happen to your people in the latter days. For the vision is for days yet to come.” 15 When he had spoken to me according to these words, I turned my face toward the ground and was mute. 16 And behold, one in the likeness of the children of man touched my lips. Then I opened my mouth and spoke. I said to him who stood before me, “O my lord, by reason of the vision pains have come upon me, and I retain no strength. 17 How can my lord’s servant talk with my lord? For now no strength remains in me, and no breath is left in me.”

From 21st Century Science and Health

When first spoken, in any era, Truth, like the light, “shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.”

We must continue to wiggle our way out of human systems and theories, whether time-honored or not, if we would gain the Christ, Truth, as our only Savior. Not in part, but totally, the great healer of human mind is the healer of the body.

The purpose and motive to live spiritually can be achieved now. Getting off to the right start, you have taken the preliminary steps in divine Science and nothing but wrong intention can obstruct your advancement. Working and praying with true motives, your Father will open the way. “Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the truth?”[1]

The struggle over physicality will be replaced by a rejoicing in the affluence of our God.

Daniel 10: 18-21

Again one having the appearance of a man touched me and strengthened me. 19 And he said, “O man greatly loved, fear not, peace be with you; be strong and of good courage.” And as he spoke to me, I was strengthened and said, “Let my lord speak, for you have strengthened me.” 20 Then he said, “Do you know why I have come to you? But now I will return to fight against the prince of Persia; and when I go out, behold, the prince of Greece will come. 21 But I will tell you what is inscribed in the book of truth: there is none who contends by my side against these except Michael, your prince.

From 21st Century Science and Health

All nature teaches God’s love to us, but we can’t love God supremely and set our whole affections on spiritual things while loving the material or trusting in it more than in the spiritual.

It is a question, whether the ancient inspired healers understood the Science of spiritual healing, or whether they caught its sweet tones as the natural musician catches the tones of harmony without being able to explain them. Past healers were so divinely animated with the spirit of Science, that the lack of the letter could not impede their work. The letter without the spirit voids the healing practice.

Recovery is a struggle, not between material methods, but between human minds and spiritual Mind. It makes no difference what temporal method a patient may adopt, whether it is a faith in drugs or counseling, or a trust in physical therapy, Reiki, or a reliance on time. The victory will be on the patient’s side only as spiritual Mind through Christ, Truth, subdues the human belief in disease.

Scientific healing has this advantage over other methods—that in it Truth controls error. From this fact arise its ethical as well as physical effects, which are indissolubly connected. If there is any mystery in healing by means of Truth, the mystery comes from an unawareness of the laws of perfect Mind. Godliness is always a mystery to the ungodly.

Temporal methods of healing generate antagonism. For example, we take one pill to relieve a problem, but the pill creates another problem for which we need surgery, and then complications come about after the surgery for which we need another pill. The warfare between Spirit and the flesh goes on. Antibodies kill good bacteria along with the bad. Viruses become immune to antibiotics. Drugs are addictive. These rivalries cause the human mind to weaken its own assumed power.

Speak the truth to error in its every disguise. Tumors, ulcers, acne, inflammation, pain, deformed joints, are waking dream-shadows, dark images of human thought, which vanish in the light of Truth.

A moral issue may hinder the recovery of the sick. Lurking error, lust, envy, revenge, malice, or hate will perpetuate or even create the belief in disease. Errors of all sorts gravitate in this direction. Your true course is to destroy the foe and leave the field to God, Life, Truth, and Love, remembering that God and God’s ideas alone are real and harmonious.

John 1:17

 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

From 21st Century Science and Health

Moses. A fleshly human being; moral courage; a type of moral law and the demonstration thereof; the proof that without the gospel—the union of justice and compassion—there is something spiritually lacking, since justice demands penalties under the law.

Jesus’ mission was to reveal the truth of spiritual reality to all humankind, even to the hearts which rejected him.

The advent of Jesus of Nazareth marked the first century of the Christian era, but Christ-spirit is without beginning of years or end of days. Throughout all generations both before and after the Christian era, the Christ, as the divine idea—the reflection of God—has come with some degree of power and grace to all prepared to receive the Messiah, or Truth. Abraham, Jacob, Moses, and the prophets caught glorious glimpses of Christ, which baptized these insightful people in the nature, or essence of Love.

Because Truth is infinite, error should be known as nothing. Because Truth is omnipotent in goodness; Truth’s opposite, error, has no power. Evil is only the counterbalance of nonexistence. The greatest wrong is supposing that there is an opposite of the highest right. The confidence inspired by Science lies in the fact that Truth is real and Truth’s opposite is unreal, is an error. Error is a coward before Truth. Divine Science insists that time will prove all this. Both truth and error have come nearer than ever before to the perception of human beings, and truth will continue to appear, as error is self-destroyed.

The “old school” thinking still opposes Christian Science because spiritual Science wars with conservatism and physical science, even as Truth wars with error. Ignorance, arrogance, or prejudice closes the door to whatever is not stereotyped. When the Science of being is universally understood, every person will be their own physician and Truth will be the universal remedy, even as truth removes error.

It is not safe to build on false foundations. Truth makes a new creature, where “old things passed away; behold, new things have come.”[2] Obsessions, selfishness, misleading appetites, hatred, fear, and lust give way to spirituality, and the superabundance of being is on the side of God, good.

Truth compels sure entrance into the realm of Love.

*Scripture quotations are from the ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

** Text from 21st Century Science and Health, 5th edition, copyrighted by Cheryl Petersen.

[1] Gal. 5:7

[2] II Cor. 5:17 (NASB)

Leave a Reply

