May 27, 2015

bible study imageSubject: Presence of life

Golden text: Acts 2:28*

You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence.

II Kings 2: 1-6

When the Lord was about to take Elijah up to heaven in a whirlwind, Elijah and Elisha were on their way from Gilgal. Elijah said to Elisha, “Stay here; the Lord has sent me to Bethel.” But Elisha said, “As surely as the Lord lives and as you live, I will not leave you.” So they went down to Bethel. The company of the prophets at Bethel came out to Elisha and asked, “Do you know that the Lord is going to take your master from you today?” “Yes, I know,” Elisha replied, “so be quiet.” Then Elijah said to him, “Stay here, Elisha; the Lord has sent me to Jericho.” And he replied, “As surely as the Lord lives and as you live, I will not leave you.” So they went to Jericho. The company of the prophets at Jericho went up to Elisha and asked him, “Do you know that the Lord is going to take your master from you today?” “Yes, I know,” he replied, “so be quiet.” Then Elijah said to him, “Stay here; the Lord has sent me to the Jordan.” And he replied, “As surely as the Lord lives and as you live, I will not leave you.” So the two of them walked on.

From 21st Century Science and Health*

Always support the patient’s trust in the power of Mind to support the body. Never tell the sick that they have more courage than strength. Tell them rather that their strength is in proportion to their courage.

Human ability is slow to perceive and realize God’s creation and the divine power and presence which go with it (demonstrating its spiritual origin). Mortals can never know the infinite until they throw off the old self and reach the spiritual image and likeness.

Elijah. Prophecy; spiritual evidence contradicting limited perspectives; Christian Science, with which can be discerned the spiritual fact of whatever the material senses behold; the basis of immortality.

Life is eternal. We should find this out, and begin the demonstration thereof.

It is better for hope to prophesy that the human mind will sometime ascend above all limited and physical sense. As dimensional and unreliable views are exchanged for spiritual perception, human concepts are advanced. The divine consciousness is experienced and person recognizes their God-given dominion and being.

The nothingness of evil becomes apparent in the presence of infinite good.

II Kings 2: 7- 18

Fifty men from the company of the prophets went and stood at a distance, facing the place where Elijah and Elisha had stopped at the Jordan. Elijah took his cloak, rolled it up and struck the water with it. The water divided to the right and to the left, and the two of them crossed over on dry ground. When they had crossed, Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me, what can I do for you before I am taken from you?” “Let me inherit a double portion of your spirit,” Elisha replied. 10 “You have asked a difficult thing,” Elijah said, “yet if you see me when I am taken from you, it will be yours—otherwise, it will not.” 11 As they were walking along and talking together, suddenly a chariot of fire and horses of fire appeared and separated the two of them, and Elijah went up to heaven in a whirlwind. 12 Elisha saw this and cried out, “My father! My father! The chariots and horsemen of Israel!” And Elisha saw him no more. Then he took hold of his garment and tore it in two. 13 Elisha then picked up Elijah’s cloak that had fallen from him and went back and stood on the bank of the Jordan. 14 He took the cloak that had fallen from Elijah and struck the water with it. “Where now is the Lord, the God of Elijah?” he asked. When he struck the water, it divided to the right and to the left, and he crossed over. 15 The company of the prophets from Jericho, who were watching, said, “The spirit of Elijah is resting on Elisha.” And they went to meet him and bowed to the ground before him. 16 “Look,” they said, “we your servants have fifty able men. Let them go and look for your master. Perhaps the Spirit of the Lord has picked him up and set him down on some mountain or in some valley.” “No,” Elisha replied, “do not send them.” 17 But they persisted until he was too embarrassed to refuse. So he said, “Send them.” And they sent fifty men, who searched for three days but did not find him. 18 When they returned to Elisha, who was staying in Jericho, he said to them, “Didn’t I tell you not to go?”

From 21st Century Science and Health

Mortals have an imperfect understanding of spiritual being and its infinite range of thought. Eternal Life belongs to spiritual being. Never born and never dying, it is impossible for people, under the government of God in eternal Science, to fall from an immortal status.

Human flesh is neither self-existent nor a product of Spirit. The physical eye only sees an image of human thought reflected on the retina.

Only as we ascend above all habituated feelings and sin can we reach heaven-born aspiration.

Through spiritual perception we can discern the heart of divinity and thereby begin to understand the generic term person. Our spirituality is not absorbed in God. We do not become isolated or trapped in a vacuum. Our individuality goes on and on reflecting Life eternal. We each represent the totality of infinite Mind’s substance.

In divine Science, person is the true image of God.

Person is, and forever has been, God’s reflection. God is infinite, therefore ever present, and there is no other power, no other presence.

We are the image or idea of God, an idea which can’t be lost or separated from its divine Principle. As the evidence before the mortal perceptions evaporate in the presence of spiritual perception, nothing can estrange us from the sweet sense and presence of Life and Truth.

Psalm 16

Keep me safe, my God,
for in you I take refuge.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
apart from you I have no good thing.”
I say of the holy people who are in the land,
“They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
or take up their names on my lips.

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
you make my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.
I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
nor will you let your faithful one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence,
with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

From 21st Century Science and Health

Question. Is there more than one God or Principle?

Answer. There is not more than one God. Principle and its idea are one, and this one is God—omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent Being. Omni is adopted from the Latin adjective signifying all. Therefore God combines all-power or potency, all-science or true knowledge, all-presence. God’s reflection is child (man and woman) and the universe. The diverse manifestations of divine Science indicate Mind, never matter, and have one Principle.

If it were not for the indissoluble immortal connection between God and spiritual identity, people would be annihilated. In divine Science, mortality disappears in the presence of reality.

God is individual, bodiless. Divine Principle, Love, is the universal cause, the only source, and there is no other self-expression. Being is all-inclusive, and is reflected by all that is real and eternal and by nothing else. God fills all presence (space), and it is impossible to conceive of such omnipresence and individuality except as infinite Spirit or Mind. Hence all is Spirit and spiritual.

*THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica®. Text from 21st Century Science and Health, copyrighted by Cheryl Petersen.

Leave a Reply

