March 18, 2015

bible study imageSubject: Life divine versus mortal life

Golden text: Ecclesiastes 5:20*

 For he will not much remember the days of his life because God keeps him occupied with joy in his heart.

Eccl. 11: 1-10

Cast your bread upon the waters,
for you will find it after many days.
Give a portion to seven, or even to eight,
for you know not what disaster may happen on earth.
If the clouds are full of rain,
they empty themselves on the earth,
and if a tree falls to the south or to the north,
in the place where the tree falls, there it will lie.
He who observes the wind will not sow,
and he who regards the clouds will not reap.

As you do not know the way the spirit comes to the bones in the womb of a woman with child, so you do not know the work of God who makes everything.

In the morning sow your seed, and at evening withhold not your hand, for you do not know which will prosper, this or that, or whether both alike will be good.

Light is sweet, and it is pleasant for the eyes to see the sun.

So if a person lives many years, let him rejoice in them all; but let him remember that the days of darkness will be many. All that comes is vanity.

Rejoice, O young man, in your youth, and let your heart cheer you in the days of your youth. Walk in the ways of your heart and the sight of your eyes. But know that for all these things God will bring you into judgment.

10 Remove vexation from your heart, and put away pain from your body, for youth and the dawn of life are vanity.

From 21st Century Science and Health*

The belief and dream of mortal being is entirely separate from the Life divine. Immortal Life reveals not only spiritual understanding, but also the consciousness of our dominion over that which is earthbound.

What the physical senses tell us often reverses or rearranges the real Science of being. This rearrangement assigns seeming authority to sin, sickness, and death. But the great facts of Life, rightly understood, defeat this triad of errors, contradict their false witnesses, and reveal the power of heaven—the actual authority of harmony on earth. The material senses’ rearrangement of the Science of Soul was exposed in a practical way twenty centuries ago by the demonstrations of Jesus. Yet we are trained to believe that the human mind is secondary to mortal body, and that certain sections of matter, such as brain and nerves, are put in charge of pain and pleasure. Sadly, this derangement looks to matter to report to the mind the status of happiness or misery.

There are many proofs of the illusion of physical sense. For example, when driving on the highway, the paved road ahead sometimes appears to have water on it. The barometer points to fair weather in the midst of murky clouds and drenching rain. What about the body? Physical senses tell us the body is solid, but the body isn’t solid. Cosmic rays, neutrinos, radio and TV waves are zinging through the body as if it is transparent. The examples of illusive, unreliable appearances could go on. Life teaches us to correct what the physical senses and human imprints claim as fact.

To physical sense, a cut jugular vein takes away life; but to spiritual sense and in Science, Life goes on unchanged. Existence is eternal. Temporal life is a false sense of being.

Human-made theories make the same mistake regarding Soul and body that René Descartes[1] made regarding the brain as a complex fixed machine. Adherents of Descartes theories culminates in localizationism, the belief in a hard-wired brain in which each mental function has a strict location. However modern brain science is showing, “[Brain] plasticity is a normal phenomenon, and brain maps are constantly changing.”[2] Moreover, Christian Science is showing that mind is not subject to the brain or matter, and soul is not in the body. The order of Science can’t be reversed by human theories that assign to matter the power and prerogative of Spirit, a paradigm in which people become the most absolutely weak and pitiful creatures in the universe. Scientific blunders can’t affect the harmony of being.

John 5: 30-47

 “I [Jesus] can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me. 31 If I alone bear witness about myself, my testimony is not true. 32 There is another who bears witness about me, and I know that the testimony that he bears about me is true. 33 You sent to John, and he has borne witness to the truth. 34 Not that the testimony that I receive is from man, but I say these things so that you may be saved. 35 He was a burning and shining lamp, and you were willing to rejoice for a while in his light. 36 But the testimony that I have is greater than that of John. For the works that the Father has given me to accomplish, the very works that I am doing, bear witness about me that the Father has sent me. 37 And the Father who sent me has himself borne witness about me. His voice you have never heard, his form you have never seen, 38 and you do not have his word abiding in you, for you do not believe the one whom he has sent. 39 You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that bear witness about me, 40 yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life. 41 I do not receive glory from people. 42 But I know that you do not have the love of God within you. 43 I have come in my Father’s name, and you do not receive me. If another comes in his own name, you will receive him. 44 How can you believe, when you receive glory from one another and do not seek the glory that comes from the only God? 45 Do not think that I will accuse you to the Father. There is one who accuses you: Moses, on whom you have set your hope. 46 For if you believed Moses, you would believe me; for he wrote of me. 47 But if you do not believe his writings, how will you believe my words?”

From 21st Century Science and Health

Jesus taught the way of Life by demonstration, that we may understand how this Principle heals the sick, drives out mistaken mindsets, and triumphs over death. Jesus presented the ideal of God better than any person whose origin was less spiritual. By his obedience to God, he demonstrated the Principle of being

Although the great Teacher proved his control over sin and disease, he didn’t relieve others from proving their own spiritual power. He worked as a guide, that people might demonstrate the power of divine Principle. Smothering Jesus with emotional affection, or claiming to be a devoted follower, will never alone make you like him. You must “go and do likewise,”[3] or you are not improving the great blessings that he worked and suffered to offer you.

Even at a young age Jesus knew he was in his “Father’s house.”[4] His pursuits were different from the conventional pursuits of human beings. His master was Spirit; their master was material energy. He served God; they served money. His inclinations were pure; theirs were to indulge the flesh and ego. Jesus’ senses drank in the spiritual evidence of health, holiness, and life. The world’s senses absorb the material evidence of sickness, sin, and death. Divine perception and worldly perception witness polar-opposite to one another.

Psalm 27: 1-4

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid?

When evildoers assail me
to eat up my flesh,
my adversaries and foes,
it is they who stumble and fall.

Though an army encamp against me,
my heart shall not fear;
though war arise against me,
yet I will be confident.

One thing have I asked of the Lord,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
and to inquire in his temple.

Psalms 42:8

By day the Lord commands his steadfast love, and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

From 21st Century Science and Health

The mechanisms of the human mind and body seem to talk to one another, but the mind is both the server and receiver. The human mind is a counterfeit. Nerves are unable to talk. Material atoms can return no answer to spiritual Mind. If Mind is all-acting, how can mechanism be automatic? Human mind perpetuates its own thought. It constructs a machine, manages it, and then calls it material. A computer at work or the action of a processor is but a derivative form, and continuation of, the primitive human mind. Without this human mind force, the body is devoid of action and this deadness shows that so-called human life is fleshly mind, not matter.

Because Life is God, Life must be eternal, self-existent. Life is the everlasting I AM, the Being who was and is and will be; the Being whom nothing can erase.

We are inundated with the feeling and consciousness that life exists in the material body, yet we remember that in reality God is our Life.

*The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®) copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. ESV® Text Edition: 2011. Scripture taken from The Message. Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002. Text from 21st Century Science and Health, copyrighted by Cheryl Petersen.

[1] René Descartes, (1596–1650) French mathematician, scientist and philosopher.

[2] The Brain that Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science Norman Doidge, M.D. (Viking Penguin Books, New York, 2007)

[3] Luke 10:37

[4] Luke 2:49

Leave a Reply

