November 19, 2014

bible study imageSubject: Soul, the one Soul we all express in our own way

Golden text: Isaiah 55:3 *

Incline your ear, and come to me; hear, that your soul may live;

Exodus 33: 12-23

12 Moses said to the Lord, “See, you say to me, ‘Bring up this people,’ but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. Yet you have said, ‘I know you by name, and you have also found favor in my sight.’ 13 Now therefore, if I have found favor in your sight, please show me now your ways, that I may know you in order to find favor in your sight. Consider too that this nation is your people.” 14 And he said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” 15 And he said to him, “If your presence will not go with me, do not bring us up from here. 16 For how shall it be known that I have found favor in your sight, I and your people? Is it not in your going with us, so that we are distinct, I and your people, from every other people on the face of the earth?”

17 And the Lord said to Moses, “This very thing that you have spoken I will do, for you have found favor in my sight, and I know you by name.” 18 Moses said, “Please show me your glory.” 19 And he said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you and will proclaim before you my name ‘The Lord.’ And I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy on whom I will show mercy. 20 But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for man shall not see me and live.” 21 And the Lord said, “Behold, there is a place by me where you shall stand on the rock, 22 and while my glory passes by I will put you in a cleft of the rock, and I will cover you with my hand until I have passed by. 23 Then I will take away my hand, and you shall see my back, but my face shall not be seen.”

From 21st Century Science and Health*

The Bible represents Spirit as saying: “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”[1] Not materially, but spiritually we know God as divine Mind, as Life, Truth, and Love. We become more respectful and caring as we get to know the divine nature better and love Soul understandingly.

We worship spiritually, only as we cease to worship materially. The devotion to Spirit is the soul of spirituality. Worshipping through the medium of matter is not productive. Human-made rituals are but types and shadows of true worship. “The true worshippers will worship the Father in spirit and truth.”[2]

The tribal Yahweh was a human-projected God, liable to wrath, repentance, and human moodiness. The Christian Science God is unchanging, universal, eternal, divine Love. This God does not cause evil, disease or death. In the beginning God created children in God’s image; but human beings would procreate man and woman, and make God in their own mortal image. What is the god of a human, but a human magnified? It is depressing when the meaning of Scripture is reversed.

The terms souls, spirits, or human beings are as unsustainable as the term gods. Soul or Spirit signifies infinite Being and nothing else. There are not finite souls, spirits, or beings. Soul or Spirit means only one Mind, and cannot be rendered in the plural.

Question. What is God?

Answer. God is bodiless, divine, supreme, infinite Mind, Spirit, Soul, Principle, Life, Truth, Love.

I Kings 1:1-4

Now King David was old and advanced in years. And although they covered him with clothes, he could not get warm. Therefore his servants said to him, “Let a young woman be sought for my lord the king, and let her wait on the king and be in his service. Let her lie in your arms, that my lord the king may be warm.” So they sought for a beautiful young woman throughout all the territory of Israel, and found Abishag the Shunammite, and brought her to the king. The young woman was very beautiful, and she was of service to the king and attended to him, but the king knew her not.

I Kings 2:10

10 Then David slept with his fathers and was buried in the city of David.

Psalm 63:1-8

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
2 So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
beholding your power and glory.
3 Because your steadfast love is better than life,
my lips will praise you.
4 So I will bless you as long as I live;
in your name I will lift up my hands.

5 My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
6 when I remember you upon my bed,
and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
7 for you have been my help,
and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
8 My soul clings to you;
your right hand upholds me.

From 21st Century Science and Health

The time it takes for us to stop embracing delusive pleasures and pains will be drawn out, or shortened, depending on the tenacity of error. Of what advantage is it to prolong the illusion either of a catatonic soul or of a dying sufferer trapped in a body? What is better, to add years to mortal life, or, to add life to years?

Divine Science explains all cause and effect as mental, not physical. It lifts the veil of mystery from Soul and body. Science shows the scientific relation of person to God and unravels the interwoven ambiguities of being, setting free the imprisoned thought. In divine Science, the universe, including man and woman, is spiritual, harmonious, and eternal. Science shows that what is termed matter is but the subjective state of what I term human mind.

What happens when the material body takes a turn for the worse and gives out? What happens when the belief of life in matter overloads and crashes? Do you believe the deathless Principle, or Soul, escapes from matter and lives on? But, this is unworkable. Death is not a springboard to eternal Life and happiness. The person who neglects their spirituality is a suicide. Sin kills the sinner and will continue to kill so long as sin is committed. The ranting and raving of illegitimate living and of fearful and pitiful dying should disappear on the shore of time where the waves of sin, sorrow, and death beat in vain.

God, divine good, does not kill humanity in order to give us eternal Life, for God alone is our life. It is evil that dies; good doesn’t die. No matter where you are in the universe, God is the center and circumference of existence.

Matthew 16: 24-28

24 Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25 For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. 26 For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul? 27 For the Son of Man is going to come with his angels in the glory of his Father, and then he will repay each person according to what he has done. 28 Truly, I say to you, there are some standing here who will not taste death until they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.”

Matt. 26:1, 36-46

When Jesus had finished all these sayings, he said to his disciples, 2 “You know that after two days the Passover is coming, and the Son of Man will be delivered up to be crucified.”

36 Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to his disciples, “Sit here, while I go over there and pray.” 37 And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch with me.” 39 And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” 40 And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping. And he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour? 41 Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” 42 Again, for the second time, he went away and prayed, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will be done.” 43 And again he came and found them sleeping, for their eyes were heavy. 44 So, leaving them again, he went away and prayed for the third time, saying the same words again. 45 Then he came to the disciples and said to them, “Sleep and take your rest later on.[e] See, the hour is at hand, and the Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners. 46 Rise, let us be going; see, my betrayer is at hand.”

From 21st Century Science and Health

During his night of gloom, and yet success, in the garden of Gethsemane,[3] Jesus realized the absolute error of a belief in any possible human intelligence. Neglect, bigotry, and indifference pained and devastated him. His students slept. Couldn’t they care? Jesus was waiting and struggling in silent torment. He uncomplainingly was protecting a world. He asked them: “Could none of you stay awake with me for one hour?”[4] There was no response to that human request, and so Jesus turned forever away from earth to heaven, from sense to Soul.

Spiritual and moral freedom is found in Soul.

The identity or idea of reality continues forever. Soul is synonymous with Spirit, God; the creative, governing, infinite Principle, which is reflected by creation. Spirit is never inside a finite form.

Keep clearly in thought that we are the offspring of God, not of human beings; that we are spiritual, not material; that Soul is Spirit, never inside matter.

Insist fervently on the great fact which covers the whole ground, that God, Spirit, is all, and that there is one Soul.

*The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®) copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Text from 21st Century Science and Health can’t be reproduced in part or as a whole without the written permission of Healing Science Today

 

[1] Ex. 33:20

[2] John 4:23

[3] Matt. 26:36; Mark 14:32; Luke 22:39

[4] Matt. 26:40; Mark 14:37 (REB)

Leave a Reply

