Our Anniversary

Today is Doug’s and my wedding anniversary. Back in 1983, I would never have guessed what we’d see, experience, and learn for these past 27 years. We’ve learned marraige isn’t a 50-50 deal. Each spouse gives 100%.  We make compromises, but don’t compromise our integrity. When the marriage feels like it is going sour, we protect it from the worldview of anger and confusion.

During one of these sour times, I also searched the Bible to see what Christ Jesus had to say about marriage. It was recorded that some Pharisees asked Jesus if it was lawful to divorce. Jesus answered with a question, “What did Moses command you?” (Mark 10:3 NRSV) They answered that Moses said divorce was okay.

Divorce or not, Jesus reminded them, “What God has joined together, let no one separate.” Whether single or married, each person is gifted with divine qualities that we want to nurture and keep united. Ths helps in all outside relationships.

Jesus was always instructing and dealing with spiritual thoughts, not physical forms. God didn’t join physical human beings, but thoughts of honesty, courage, faithfulness, and so on. This instruction has allowed Doug and me to keep our marriage on a firm footing. Instead of arguing about one another’s habits or opinions, we focus on our spirituality.

The kind of relationship I have with God, is naturally reflected in my relationship with Doug. I don’t view God as a authoritarian figure bossing me around. God is infinite, gentle, merciful Love. God is holy Spirit. God is ongoing Life. I strive to relate to those thoughts and it helps me in my marriage.

Warm hearts

2 thoughts on “Our Anniversary

  1. Cheryl,
    I am so happy that God has blessed you and Doug, and your beliefs and your spirituality, are what my mom and dad taught me that marraige was about. They had 66 years together, and I wish you and Doug the same. I’m so glad that you have been able to keep your marraige, the way Jesus taught it should be. You are a very precious person to me Cheryl, and May God continue to bless you and your family.

  2. What a very good testimonial of how our Lord and Savior is the Rock, our stronghold in this ever consuming world. If we keep our eyes on Jesus, and see and look at others treating them as if they were Jesus then we will express and show love, and love does not fail. Thank you for sharing your life experience and growth with us.

Leave a Reply

